Cross-Asset Desk

multi-asset perpetual futuresEdition of 24 September 2026Figures dated at source

multi-asset perpetual futures

Ostium Alternatives for Commodity and FX Perpetuals

Traders look for Ostium alternatives when they want a resting order book instead of an oracle and a pool, or markets that do not close with the underlying session. Six order-book venues qualify; Lighter leads at 90 of 100. Every one of the six quotes from a book a reader can poll.

Weights 32What one account reaches 28Cost of getting in and out 18Custody of the margin 12How the venue has held up 10The book behind the quote How we rate

Order-book alternatives to an oracle-priced venue

Terms read 18 September 2026

Ordered by the overall score. Every venue here runs a resting order book rather than an oracle and a pool, which is the structural difference a trader is usually looking for when they start comparing. A second condition decides the rows: a venue is scored only when its own documentation lists four or more asset classes outside crypto. That is what a trader leaving an oracle venue is shopping for, and it is why edgeX, ApeX Omni and Paradex — three classes apiece — no longer appear in the table.

#VenueWhen the non-crypto markets are openScore of 100Perp marketsMaker / takerVenue type
1 Lighter Real-world assets stated as 24/7; no venue-wide hours page90214 0% / 0% Hybrid, ZK-proven
2 Extended Order-book real-world assets 24/7; Prime markets 24/5 or session-bound85325 0% / 0.025% Hybrid
3 Aster not stated in the documentation we read82578 0% / 0.040% Own layer 1, operator-run
4 Hyperliquid not stated in the documentation we read76324 0.015% / 0.045% On-chain order book
5 EVEDEX All markets 24/7, shares and commodities included6752 0.015% / 0.045% Hybrid
6 Aevo not stated in the documentation we read58102 0.050% / 0.080% Hybrid

Rates quoted are the entry tier on the BTC perpetual; counts are the venues' own. Equal totals share a place. Whether a desk may open an account at all is a matter for the venue's terms, not for this page. Figures as read on 18 September 2026; the rule beside a score compares that venue with the highest total on this page.

What the ranking turns on

  1. Structural difference: a resting book you can measure, against a pool quoting an oracle price.
  2. Hours: Ostium follows the cash session; EVEDEX documents 24/7 across every market it lists.
  3. Depth you can check: the six books here ran from $3.8 million to $19.1 million of BTC within 10 bps.
  4. Breadth of a different shape: 74 of Ostium's 83 markets sit outside crypto, where an order-book venue's list is mostly crypto.

1. Lighter — for the cheapest order book with commodity exposure

90of 100breakdown

Lighter matches orders off-chain and proves batches on Ethereum, with critical exits submittable on-chain (Lighter docs, checked 18 September 2026). It lists 214 markets across six asset classes and trades at 0% maker / 0% taker on the default account.

In favour

  • 0% maker and taker on the default account
  • On-chain exit documented

Against it

  • Hours stated for its real-world-asset markets but not venue-wide
  • 300 ms taker delay on the free tier

Not for: traders who need dozens of equity listings.

Official site: docs.lighter.xyz

2. Extended — for the closest match on breadth

85of 100breakdown

Extended lists 325 markets across five asset classes including pre-IPO contracts (Extended docs, checked 18 September 2026), the widest non-crypto coverage among order-book venues here, at 0% maker / 0.025% taker for every account.

In favour

  • 325 markets across five classes
  • Public bug bounty of up to $500,000

Against it

  • No documented forced withdrawal
  • Prime real-world-asset markets halt outside their sessions

Not for: traders who want an operator-independent exit.

Official site: docs.extended.exchange

3. Aster — for the longest listing of any venue here

82of 100breakdown

578 perpetual markets spread over six asset classes (Aster docs, checked 18 September 2026), priced at 0% maker / 0.040% taker. Aster Chain does the matching; its core contracts have not been published for reading, and the validator set stays closed through phase one.

In favour

  • 578 perpetual markets
  • 0% maker fee

Against it

  • Chain contracts are not open-sourced
  • No external validators in phase one

Not for: a desk that needs the chain under its positions publicly validated.

Official site: docs.asterdex.com

4. Hyperliquid — for the largest venue by open interest

76of 100breakdown

The entire book lives inside a layer 1 Hyperliquid built for it, which makes every order and every fill a transaction on that chain (Hyperliquid docs, checked 18 September 2026). Open interest read $8.7 billion in CoinMarketCap's 22 September 2026 table. At the entry tier the rate is 0.015% maker / 0.045% taker.

In favour

  • Open interest of $8.7 billion on CoinMarketCap
  • Median BTC depth of $10.1 million

Against it

  • Builder-deployed markets are not reviewed by the interface operator
  • No documented forced withdrawal

Not for: traders who want every listing vetted by one operator.

Official site: hyperliquid.gitbook.io/hyperliquid-docs

5. EVEDEX — for the alternative that answers the weekend complaint

67of 100breakdown

Orders meet off the chain and Arbitrum settles them. The list runs to 52 markets — crypto, gold through XAUT, silver, crude oil, EUR/USD, USD/JPY, five US shares, an index, two pre-IPO contracts — and EVEDEX's trading terms put the whole list on a 24/7 schedule (18 September 2026, EVEDEX documentation). Cross margin in USDT only, at 0.015% maker / 0.045% taker ahead of cashback.

In favour

  • Every market documented as open 24/7
  • Six asset classes in one cross-margined USDT balance

Against it

  • 52 markets against Ostium's wider non-crypto list
  • Positions written to Arbitrum in batches rather than trade by trade

Not for: UK retail clients.

6. Aevo — for a list where nearly half the markets sit outside crypto

58of 100breakdown

Of 102 active perpetuals, 55 are crypto and the remaining 47 are equities, ETFs, commodities, currencies, two pre-IPO names and a market on compute (Aevo market list, checked 18 September 2026). Orders match off the chain and matched trades settle in contracts on a rollup Aevo runs. Rates are 0.050% maker / 0.080% taker.

In favour

  • 47 of its 102 markets sit outside crypto
  • Matched trades settle in contracts on the rollup it runs

Against it

  • 0.080% taker, the dearest rate among these six
  • Sequencing runs through a single operator with batches posted hourly

Not for: a trader replacing an oracle venue's equity breadth name for name.

Official site: aevo.xyz/docs

What Ostium alternatives change about a position

Three things. Price formation moves from a feed to a book: instead of a quote derived from an oracle, a trader fills against resting orders, which can be inspected and measured — the readings put $16.5 million of BTC within 10 basis points on Lighter and $3.8 million on Aevo, six books read on one timer. Counterparty structure moves from a shared pool to other traders. And the fee model changes: pool venues charge opening and closing fees plus borrowing on the position, while order-book venues charge maker and taker rates and funding.

What is usually lost is breadth. Ostium lists 43 equities, 8 ETFs, 9 FX pairs, 7 commodities and 7 indices against far shorter non-crypto lists on most order-book venues.

What does not change is the size a trader is carrying. The margin behind a leveraged position is all it has, and a market that gaps can take the lot.

The hours question, asked the other way round

An oracle-priced venue inherits the underlying session by design: it quotes what the feed quotes, and Ostium's documentation queues limit orders and rejects market orders outside the window (Ostium market reference, checked 18 September 2026). An order-book venue has to decide for itself, and what they publish covers part of a listing rather than the whole of it: Lighter and Extended state 24/7 for their real-world-asset markets, and Extended adds that the Prime markets behind a quote request halt with the underlying session, while Aster, Hyperliquid and Aevo say nothing we could find.

EVEDEX states one policy for the whole list, that all 52 of its markets trade 24/7, shares and commodities included (18 September 2026, EVEDEX documentation). For a trader whose complaint about an oracle venue is the weekend gap rather than the pricing model, that is the specific thing to compare.

How the comparison was made

Every column here but one is read rather than measured. On 18 September 2026 the desk read each venue's terms and documentation for what it lists, when those markets are open, what it charges, who can move the collateral. Depth nobody publishes, so the desk took it: each BTC perpetual book read on a timer, ten minutes apart, closing 17:58 UTC on 20 September 2026. The desk keeps an account at none of them. The same five criteria, settled on 23 September 2026 and set out on the method page, order the 6 venues scored here.

The hours are the softest column here, and one page is ordered by them — a line in a venue's own document about when a market is open, not something anyone watched. Custody is read the same way. Depth is measured, but only on BTC, the one contract all of these venues run; thickness there says nothing about the XAUT book beside it. Fees are the day-one rate, nothing a trader earns back taken off.

The order-book readings

BTC perpetual order books read on a timer, ten minutes apart, closing 17:58 UTC on 20 September 2026. Each figure is the median of the successful snapshots behind it.

VenueMedian spreadMedian depth within 10 bpsMedian impact, $100,000 order$10,000 round trip, taker feesSnapshots
Lighter0.27 bps$16.5 million0.45 bps$0.0017
Extended0.12 bps$7.4 million0.06 bps$5.0017
Aster0.01 bps$13.8 million0.39 bps$8.0027
Hyperliquid0.12 bps$10.1 million0.06 bps$9.0028
EVEDEX4.12 bps$19.1 million2.06 bps$9.0028
Aevo1.61 bps$3.8 million2.87 bps$16.0028

Readers' questions

what is ostium trading

A perpetuals venue for real-world assets on Arbitrum, pricing positions against an oracle and filling them from a shared pool rather than an order book. Its documentation lists 83 markets across crypto, equities, ETFs, FX, commodities and indices, each with its own session.

What are the best Ostium alternatives?

It depends on the reason for leaving in the first place. For a resting book a trader can measure before sizing an order, Lighter scores 90 of 100 here and Extended 85. For markets that stay open when the cash session closes, EVEDEX is the venue documenting round-the-clock trading across everything it lists.

Is an order book better than an oracle?

Neither is better in general. A book shows depth a trader can inspect before sizing an order, and it can be thin. An oracle-priced pool always quotes a price but that price comes from a feed, and the pool's capacity, not the book, sets what can be filled.

Does Ostium require KYC?

Its site states there are no account approvals and that traders keep full custody of their funds. Sign-in is an email that creates a smart account, or a wallet. Its terms still bar several countries, which is the usual pattern across every venue on this page.

Which venue has the most real-world assets?

By share of the listing, the oracle-priced ones: 74 of Ostium's 83 markets sit outside crypto. By count an order-book venue can carry more — 130 of Extended's 325 markets are real-world assets, 112 of them equities. What switching costs is the even spread across classes, not the number of names.

Can I trade gold on all of these?

Most list a metals market, usually a perpetual on XAUT rather than on spot gold. Our page on trading gold orders those venues by when the market is actually open, which is where they differ more than in the listing itself.

Cross-Asset Desk Research
Updated: