Cross-Asset Desk

multi-asset perpetual futuresEdition of 15 October 2026Figures dated at source

multi-asset perpetual futures · terms read 18 September 2026

One account, more than crypto

Perpetual contracts on gold, crude oil, currencies and listed shares against stablecoin collateral — which venues list them, when those markets are open, and what a round trip costs.

Metals, energy, currencies and listed shares now trade as perpetual contracts against stablecoin collateral, on the same venues as BTC. What differs between them is not whether the market exists but when it is open, what it costs to hold, and who holds the collateral while it is. The trading terms of every venue on this page are read here; the one market they all share is measured rather than reported.

One line decides who is scored. A venue joins the register when its own documentation lists at least four asset classes that are not crypto — metals, energy, currencies, equities, indices, pre-listing contracts, fixed income — and when it runs a resting order book this desk can read. Six venues clear both. edgeX, ApeX Omni and Paradex document three classes apiece and dYdX one, so this desk goes on reading them, names them under the tables they used to stand in, and gives none of them a place or a mark.

Two reference pages sit beside the tables: an explainer on exchange traded derivatives, the listed futures and options these contracts borrow from, and the profile of a crypto futures trading platform that keeps every one of its markets open around the clock.

Desk figures

What each venue lists, read 18 September 2026

A filled mark means the venue lists that asset class in its own documentation. Marks are not a judgement of depth: a venue can list a market and quote it thinly. The same rows appear in full, with their trading hours, in the table below.
Venues read 16 order-book and oracle-priced, 6 of them scored
Markets listed 1,595 crypto, metals, energy, currencies, indices, shares and pre-IPO contracts on the scored venues
Hours in the documents 5 venues say when their non-crypto markets are open — three of the six on the register, plus the two oracle-priced venues that publish a session for every class
BTC orders within 10 bps $70.8 million added across the 6 scored books, each the middle reading of a poll put to every book every 10 minutes — answered 28 times on three of them, 27 on Aster, 17 on Extended and on Lighter

What trades on each venue beyond crypto

Documentation, 18 September 2026

A venue can list gold and still be shut when you want to trade it. This table pairs what each venue lists with when those markets are open, taken from its own documentation rather than from a marketing page. It also shows the register being applied: every row below carries four or more classes outside crypto.

VenuePerp marketsAsset classes listedWhen the non-crypto markets are open
Lighter214crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPO, bondsReal-world assets stated as 24/7; no venue-wide hours page
Extended325crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPOOrder-book real-world assets 24/7; Prime markets 24/5 or session-bound
Aster578crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPOnot stated in the documentation we read
Hyperliquid324crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indicesnot stated in the documentation we read
EVEDEX52crypto, commodities, FX, stocks, indices, pre-IPOAll markets 24/7, shares and commodities included
Aevo102crypto, stocks, commodities, FX, pre-IPOnot stated in the documentation we read

Counts and asset classes are the venues' own. A market being listed is not a promise that it is quoted at size, and whether a desk may open an account at all is a matter for the venue's terms rather than for this page. Asset classes and market counts from each venue's documentation and trading terms, read on 18 September 2026. The rule for who appears at all: four or more asset classes outside crypto in a venue's own documentation, which is what puts six venues on this table and leaves edgeX, ApeX Omni, Paradex and dYdX off it at three classes or fewer. Hours come from wherever a venue states them, which for several is a real-world-asset page rather than an hours page; "not stated" means we found no such line anywhere, which is not the same as continuous trading. Oracle-priced venues are listed on the Ostium alternatives page with their own hours.

The table of 100 points

One formula, 100 points

Six venues are on the register, and the five criteria are weighted for a portfolio that is not only crypto: what one account reaches carries 32 of the 100, the cost of getting in and out 28, custody of the margin 18. The book behind the quote takes 10, the smallest share of the five, because it is read on BTC — the one market every venue here lists, and no guide at all to the gold or equity book beside it.

#VenueScore of 100Points by criterionMaker / takerPerp marketsOpen interestVenue type
1 Lighter 90 Reach 9.2 · In and out 10.0 · Margin 10.0 · Standing 7.0 · Book 6.4 0% / 0% 214 $585.4 million Hybrid, ZK-proven
2 Extended 85 Reach 9.6 · In and out 8.5 · Margin 7.0 · Standing 10.0 · Book 5.7 0% / 0.025% 325 $84.0 million Hybrid
3 Aster 82 Reach 10.0 · In and out 7.0 · Margin 7.0 · Standing 10.0 · Book 6.3 0% / 0.040% 578 $1.4 billion Own layer 1, operator-run
4 Hyperliquid 76 Reach 9.6 · In and out 6.5 · Margin 7.0 · Standing 7.0 · Book 6.0 0.015% / 0.045% 324 $8.7 billion On-chain order book
5 EVEDEX 67 Reach 7.8 · In and out 6.5 · Margin 5.0 · Standing 7.0 · Book 6.6 0.015% / 0.045% 52 $704.9 million Hybrid
6 Aevo 58 Reach 8.5 · In and out 3.0 · Margin 7.0 · Standing 4.0 · Book 5.2 0.050% / 0.080% 102 $12.8 million Hybrid

The rule under each score is that venue's total against the highest total on this page. One formula for the whole site: What one account reaches 32 · Cost of getting in and out 28 · Custody of the margin 18 · How the venue has held up 12 · The book behind the quote 10. Every weight and every sum is set out on the method. Open interest is a return the venue makes about itself, published by CoinMarketCap on 22 September 2026; market counts come from each venue's own documentation.

Why the hours matter more than the list

A perpetual on gold does not close because the metal stops trading — it closes because the venue decides to stop quoting it. Oracle-priced venues follow the underlying session: Ostium's documentation puts stocks at 9:30 to 16:00 ET on weekdays and commodities from Sunday evening to Friday evening, and queues orders outside those windows (Ostium market reference, checked 18 September 2026). gTrade says the same in plainer words and warns that stop losses cannot be guaranteed across a closed market (gTrade documentation, checked 18 September 2026).

Others keep quoting through the weekend, though rarely across the whole board. EVEDEX states that all 52 of its markets trade 24/7, shares and commodities included (18 September 2026, EVEDEX documentation). Lighter says it of its real-world assets (Lighter docs, checked 18 September 2026), and Extended of the ones that sit on its order book rather than behind a quote request. Aster, Hyperliquid and Aevo say nothing on hours anywhere we read. That matters to anyone who wants to cut a gold or equity position on a Sunday — and it raises the question of who is on the other side of the quote when the cash market is shut.

The rest of the desk

Index

By asset

Trade gold with crypto
XAUT perpetuals, leverage ladders and when the market is open
Oil perpetuals
WTI contracts against USDT, and the session behind them
Stock perpetuals
shares and index proxies without a brokerage account
USDT-margined FX perpetuals
EUR/USD and USD/JPY quoted against stablecoin collateral

Rankings and comparisons

Forex and crypto trading on one account
the full ranking of multi-asset venues
Ostium alternatives
order-book venues for traders leaving an oracle-priced one
Multi-asset fees compared
what a $10,000 round trip costs, venue by venue
EVEDEX vs Ostium
continuous quotes against session-bound ones
Extended vs Aster
two wide market lists, different chains

Method and guides

What is a USDT-margined gold perpetual
what you own, what you do not, and how funding works
How we rate
five criteria, weights and formulas on a 0-100 scale
About this desk
who writes here and where the numbers come from